JakoJako

Live / DJ

Artist Booking Request

Kavan Spruyt

Upcoming dates

Friday 24.06.2022

DE | Klingemühle

Fluid Festival

About

It all started with an urge to play with sound and a desire to know more. After several years buried in books, manuals, patch cables and messing with a DIY synth, JakoJako (real name Sibel Koçer) was playing her first live sets in Berlin, spending every spare cent on Eurorack modules. The passion soon became all-consuming, and in 2017 she left her nursing career to work at Berlin’s synth shop institution SchneidersLaden. Here she’s been sharing her grasp of tools and techniques with the city’s music maker community.

Technique is no use without ideas to apply it to – fortunately JakoJako has a natural curiosity. “When you hear a sound in an environment, say a car passing by, you don’t appreciate the complexity until you think how you might synthesise it,” JakoJako explains. “Then it becomes something abstract; a collection of modulated pitches and timbres. I love to listen to the world like this.

Her approach may seem studious, but JakoJako uses this fluency in the language of sound to convey emotion. Each track is an experiment, with success based on the intensity of feeling it creates. Her EPs Aequilibration and Lux showcased this explorative mindset, with very different stylistic ideas tied together through emotive sound design, sharp production, and a strong sense of melody.

With regular events disappearing in 2020, live music migrated to URL, finding a global audience in shared experience of isolation. After streaming a live set with HÖR she was invited to join ARTE, Innervisions and United We Stream alongside Âme and Frank Wiedermann. This led to a filmed live performance in her studio for FACT Magazine’s Patch Notes series and an in-depth studio feature for Electronic Beats, which together amassed over a million views (and counting). More recently, she’s followed up with live performances with Annalise van Even aka Nana at Superbooth and Kraftwerk Berlin.

IRL JakoJako has made good use of studio time: she's contributed tracks to compilations on BPitch Control, Tresor and Figure as well as remixing crouds, New Order and Martin Gore. More new music by Berghain’s resident is imminent in 2022, with new albums on Bigamo Musik and WSNWG plus a novamute EP. JakoJako’s future, it seems, is akin to modular synthesis: sonically endless, full of opportunity, with boundaries yet to be pushed.

Press Kit

Download Press Kit

JakoJako

Live / DJ

Bookinganfrage

Kavan Spruyt

Bio

Alles begann mit dem Drang, mit Klängen zu spielen und dem Verlangen, mehr zu wissen. Nach einigen Jahren, in denen sie sich in Bücher, Bedienungsanleitungen und Patchkabel vertiefte und mit einem DIY-Synthesizer beschäftigte, spielte JakoJako (bürgerlich: Sibel Koçer) ihre ersten Live-Sets in Berlin und drehte jeden Cent für Eurorack-Module um. Ihre Leidenschaft wurde bald alles verzehrend, 2017 gab sie ihre Arbeit in der Krankenpflege auf und begann in der Berliner Synthesizer-Institution SchneidersLaden zu arbeiten. Hier gibt sie seitdem ihr Wissen über Tools und Technik an die Music-Maker-Community der Stadt weiter.

Technik ist nichts ohne Ideen, auf die man sie anwenden kann – zum Glück steckt in JakoJako eine natürliche Neugierde. „Wenn man einen Klang in einer Umgebung hört, zum Beispiel ein vorbeifahrendes Auto, weiß man die Komplexität nicht zu schätzen, bis man darüber nachzudenken beginnt, wie man ihn synthetisieren könnte“, erklärt JakoJako. „Dann wird er zu etwas Abstraktem, zu einer Sammlung modulierter Tonhöhen und Klangfarben. Ich liebe es, der Welt auf diese Weise zuzuhören.

Ihre Herangehensweise mag studiert erscheinen, aber JakoJako nutzt diese Gewandtheit in der Sprache der Klänge, um Emotionen zu transportieren. Jeder Track ist ein Experiment, dessen Erfolg von der Intensität der Gefühle abhängt, die er erzeugt. Ihre EPs Aequilibration und Lux zeigten diese forschende Denkweise mit sehr unterschiedlichen stilistischen Ideen, die durch gefühlvolles Sounddesign, eine punktgenaue Produktion und einen starken Sinn für Melodien miteinander verbunden sind.

Als 2020 keine regelmäßigen Veranstaltungen mehr stattfanden, wanderte die Live-Musik zur URL und fand dort ein globales Publikum, das die Erfahrung der Isolation mit ihr teilte. Auf ein Live-Set bei HÖR folgte eine Einladung, neben Âme und Frank Wiedermann bei ARTE, Innervisions und United We Stream zu spielen. Dies führte zu einer gefilmten Live-Performance in ihrem Studio für die FACT Magazine-Reihe Patch Notes und einem ausführlichen Studiofeature mit Electronic Beats, die zusammen über eine Million+ Views erreicht haben. In jüngster Zeit folgten Live-Auftritte mit Annalise van Even aka Nana im Rahmen der Superbooth und im Kraftwerk Berlin.

Auch IRL hat JakoJako die Zeit im Studio gut genutzt: Sie steuerte Tracks für Compilations auf BPitch Control, Tresor und Figure bei, hat Crouds, New Order und Martin Gore geremixt. Und dazu steht 2022 neue Musik der Berghain-Resident an, in Form neuer Alben auf Bigamo Musik und WSNWG sowie einer Novamute-EP. JakoJakos Zukunft, so scheint es, ähnelt der modularen Synthese: klanglich endlos, voller Möglichkeiten und Grenzen, die es erst noch auszureizen gilt.

Sunday Mix: JakoJako

#SlamRadio - 447 - JakoJako

JakoJako feat. Nana - Tresor30 2022 (Live) - @ARTE Concert