Lakuti

DJ

Artist Booking Request

Lucy Burke

Upcoming dates

Saturday 09.07.2022

Hay-on-Wye | GB

Baskerville Hall | Freerotation

Friday 22.07.2022

Tisno | HR

The Garden | SuncéBeat Festival

Saturday 30.07.2022

London | GB

Body Movements Festival

About

Lakuti is one of the fundamental people in house music, she keeps pushing the genre’s boundaries both musically and politically, on and offside the dance floor. An experienced music curator and producer, Uzuri artist agency and label head, a sought-after educator on dance music’s history and a critical voice of the scene, Lakuti takes on many roles. A DJ and musician first and foremost, the Panorama Bar resident draws from a deep understanding of house music.

Born and raised in Soweto, South Africa, real name Lerato Khathi, Lakuti’s passion for music came early on in life, inspired by her mother’s in-depth record collection, housing some of the best in soul, funk, disco, pop and some home-brewed South African pop, bubblegum, jazz and beyond. Her grandfather, a jazz aficionado also nurtured and fired up some of her musical interests by schooling her in the art of jazz. Whilst other kids would be out in the street playing, Lakuti would obsessively be recording tapes and writing lyrics to her favourite songs.

Her own musical taste soon expanded and chartered territories beyond her family’s influence. The biggest impact was to discover Johannesburg’s best nightclubs at the time, from a goth / ebm / wave weekday venue to a LGBTIQ+ club playing a cross-section of proto house records to Factory Records-affiliated bands, to warehouse parties and beyond. The phenomenal records coming out of New York City, Chicago and later Detroit completely captured her imagination and would prove to be transformative. After completing stints in law school and film school, she traveled to Toronto further immersing herself into electronic music.

Making London her home from 1997 to 2012 was a catalyst for fully pursuing work as an independent entrepreneur within music culture. She founded the Süd Electronic label alongside fellow South African Alan Abrahams aka Portable, then throwing the cult Süd Electronic parties for 11 years, booking an international list of legendary DJs and live acts as well as new artists, many of them playing for the first time in the country. In 2007 she established her own independently run label Uzuri Recordings, a year later extending it to an artist bookings and management agency. In an industry that saw very limited opportunities for Black artists, Lakuti went to working with and highlighting them.

In the course of three decades Lakuti has established herself internationally as a respected and beloved DJ, playing both rising and renowned clubs, festivals and arts events on all continents, as well as hosting countless nights at Berghain / Panorama Bar where she and Tama Sumo launched the events series Bring Down the Walls and Your Love, celebrating guests from the Black and LGBTIQ+ communities both in and outside of the DJ booth.

As a musician, Lakuti’s vocals featured on records by Matias Aguayo, Violet x Elles, and Portable; as a producer she’s co-remixed a track by Swedish alt pop stars The Knife and released a track with Tama Sumo for Berghain’s in-house label Ostgut Ton anniversary compilation. Since 2020 she’s gone to host her Bring Down the Walls radio show on Universal Rhythms, giving space to new and established voices from house music and further strengthening her bond especially with Detroit’s music communities.

Lakuti’s longstanding career can best be described with versatility and continuity, a never-ending curiosity and profound wisdom, and a deep love for house music and the people that shape and strengthen its foundations.

RA.603 Lakuti

Podcast 113: Lakuti

Bring Down The Walls With Lakuti On Universal Rhythms Radio 25th April 2021

DISCWOMAN 25 x Lakuti & Tama Sumo

Press Kit

Download Press Kit

Ostgut Ton Releases

OSTGUTCD50/LP36
Ostgut Ton | Fünfzehn + 1

Lakuti

DJ

Bookinganfrage

Lucy Burke

Kommende Dates

Samstag 09.07.2022

Hay-on-Wye | GB

Baskerville Hall | Freerotation

Freitag 22.07.2022

Tisno | HR

The Garden | SuncéBeat Festival

Samstag 30.07.2022

London | GB

Body Movements Festival

Bio

Lakuti ist eine der wesentlichen Persönlichkeiten von House-Musik – immer wieder verschiebt sie die Grenzen des Genres, sowohl musikalisch als auch politisch, auf und abseits des Dancefloors. Als erfahrene Musikkuratorin und Producerin, Betreiberin der Künstler*innenagentur und des Labels Uzuri, gefragte Dozentin zur Geschichte von Dance Music und kritische Stimme der Szene nimmt Lakuti viele Rollen ein. Als DJ und Musikerin verfügt die Resident der Panorama Bar über ein tiefes Verständnis von House Music.

Geboren und aufgewachsen in Soweto, Südafrika als Lerato Khathi, wurde Lakutis Leidenschaft für Musik schon früh geweckt. Inspiriert wurde sie von der umfangreichen Plattensammlung ihrer Mutter, die das Beste aus Soul, Funk, Disco, Pop und selbstgebrautem südafrikanischem Pop, Bubblegum, Jazz und mehr enthielt. Auch ihr Großvater, ein Jazzfan, förderte und befeuerte einige ihrer musikalischen Interessen, indem er sie in der Kunst des Jazz unterrichtete. Während andere Kinder auf der Straße spielten, nahm Lakuti wie besessen Tapes auf und schrieb Texte zu ihren Lieblingssongs.

Ihr eigener Musikgeschmack erweiterte sich bald und eroberte Gebiete jenseits des familiären Einflusses. Die größte Auswirkung war die Entdeckung der besten Nachtclubs in Johannesburg jener Zeit – von einem Goth/EBM/Wave-Treff unter der Woche über einen LGBTIQ+-Club, in dem alles von Proto-House-Platten bis hin zu 12"s von Factory-Records-Bands gespielt wurde, bis hin zu Warehouse-Partys und darüber hinaus. Die phänomenalen Platten, die damals aus New York City, Chicago und später aus Detroit kamen, fesselten ihre Fantasie und sollten sich als transformativ erweisen. Nach ihrem Jurastudium und der Filmschule reiste sie nach Toronto, um noch tiefer in elektronische Musik einzutauchen.

Ein Katalysator für ihre Arbeit als unabhängige Unternehmerin in der Musikkultur war London, wo sie von 1997 bis 2012 lebte. Gemeinsam mit ihrem südafrikanischen Landsmann Alan Abrahams alias Portable gründete sie das Label Süd Electronic und veranstaltete elf Jahre lang die kultigen Süd Electronic-Partys. Für diese buchte Lakuti internationale, legendäre DJs und Live-Acts, aber auch neue Künstler*innen, von denen viele zum ersten Mal in UK auftraten. 2007 gründete sie ihr eigenes, Independent-Label Uzuri Recordings, das sie ein Jahr später zu einer Künstler-Booking-Agency und Management ausbaute. In einer Branche, in der es nur wenige Chancen für schwarze Künstler*innen gab, förderte und unterstützte Lakuti diese.

Im Laufe von drei Jahrzehnten hat sich Lakuti international als respektierte und beliebte DJ etabliert. Sie spielte sowohl in aufstrebenden als auch in renommierten Clubs, auf Festivals und bei Kunstveranstaltungen auf allen Kontinenten. Sie hostete unzählige Nächte in Berghain / Panorama Bar, wo sie gemeinsam mit Tama Sumo die Reihen Bring Down the Walls und Your Love veranstalten und die Gäste aus der schwarzen und der LGBTIQ+-Community innerhalb und außerhalb der DJ-Booth zelebrieren.

Als Musikerin waren Lakutis Vocals auf Platten von Matias Aguayo, Violet x Elles und Portable zu hören; als Producerin hat sie einen Track der schwedischen Alt-Pop-Stars The Knife co-remixed und einen Track mit Tama Sumo für die Jubiläumscompilation des Berghain-Inhouse-Labels Ostgut Ton veröffentlicht. Seit 2020 moderiert sie ihre Bring Down the Walls-Radioshow auf Universal Rhythms, darin gibt sie neuen und etablierten Stimmen der House Music Raum und festigt ihre Verbundenheit vor allem mit den Musik-Communities Detroits.

Lakutis langjährige Karriere lässt sich am besten beschreiben mit Vielseitigkeit und Kontinuität, einer nicht enden wollenden Neugierde, tiefgreifender Weisheit und einer Liebe zur House Music und den Menschen, die deren Grundlagen formen und stärken.

RA.603 Lakuti

Podcast 113: Lakuti

Bring Down The Walls With Lakuti On Universal Rhythms Radio 25th April 2021

DISCWOMAN 25 x Lakuti & Tama Sumo

Releases auf Ostgut Ton

OSTGUTCD50/LP36
Ostgut Ton | Fünfzehn + 1